Android Wear: My Experiences (INTRODUCTION)

I have been extremely curious about smart wearable for quite some time now, and always have been finding a way for me to experience what it feels like to wear it. I have a Xiaomi MiBand earlier this year (which I will touch upon next time), however that did not quench my thirst of owning an actual smart watch.

This will be a 3-part series of my experiences with Android Wear in general.

Introduction

For those who do not know what Android Wear is, you can look at the Wikipedia page for the main details. However, the main gist of it is that it sends notifications to your wrist, and you can do some form of actions to your phone without taking it out, such as checking weather, record reminders and send a text.

Currently Android Wear is compatible with iOS 8.2 and above, and Android 4.3 and above.

Now that might sound a little useless to many people. Many skeptics felt that such watches are unnecessary as what the watch can do, the phone can as well. To some extent, I agree to that argument. However, I decided to give Android Wear a chance to shine.

My own Christmas presents!

I purchased a LG G Watch, which is the very first Android Wear smart watch. Although it is a year old, the specifications of the watch are still the same as most other smart watches. So this is sort-of the entry-level option. I bought the LG G Watch at SGD $80 from Carousell.

lgeca084ec9e90_ec84b8eab384_ec8aa4eba788ed8ab8ec9b8cecb998_ec8b9cec9ea5_ebb3b8eab2a9_eab3b5eb9eb5_-_14507399524
LG G Watch

I also purchased the Huawei Watch, and that is probably the highest end and most luxurious smart watch right now. There is also the Tag Heuer Connect, which costs USD 1,500, so I won’t go so far. I bought this Huawei Watch for SGD $450 after Christmas discount coupons from Qoo10. (Lucky me!)

huawei-watch-with-leather-band
Huawei Watch

The end for now?

So for the next 2-3 weeks, I will be covering on Android Wear, so stay tuned for the next blog posts!

In Part 2, I will be reviewing the LG G Watch, and also the Android Wear ecosystem in general. This will probably be up by 19th December 2015.

In Part 3, I will be touching on the Huawei Watch, additional parts of the Android Wear ecosystem which the LG G Watch lacks (namely WiFi capabilities and Heart Rate monitoring), and will write the conclusion as well from that. Hopefully I could get this done before Christmas, but no guarantees.

So now, excuse me as I play with my LG G Watch right now.

LG G Watch
To be continued?

Leave a comment